The pretty holiday resort lies on the clear waters of Lake Lucerne, at the south-west foot of the Rigi and consists of several municipal districts. They lie between 434 metres above sea level (lake level) and 1659 metres above sea level (Rotstock Rigi Kaltbad).

The sunny headland has long been a favourite place for people to live. Thanks to the mild climate, protected from cold northerly winds, southern plants such as palm trees, chestnuts and orchids thrive in Weggis.


Pfäfers Abbey (SG) acquired the "Wattawis" farm around 800. In 1116, Pope Paschalis II confirmed the monastery's ownership rights. This is the first documented record of Weggis under its Latin name "Guategisso".

The construction of the direct north-south route over the Gotthard Pass in the 12th century marked the beginning of a busy transport route across the lake which included Weggis. In 1820, tourism began to flourish with the "Rigi porters". Porters and horse guides led the first mountain tourists up the Rigi.

Mark Twain described Weggis as "the most charming place" when he stayed in the village in the summer of 1897. In his book "A Trip to Mt. Rigi", the writer and globetrotter describes his ascent of the Rigi, which took him three days. You can follow in the author's footsteps on the Mark Twain theme trail which starts in Weggis and continues up to Rigi Kulm.

"Vo Lozärn gäge Wäggis zue..."

The “Rigi song” better known as "Vo Lozärn gäge Wäggis zue..." is one of the most famous folk songs in Switzerland. The song describes the story of a journey from Lucerne via Weggis to Rigi Kaltbad.

Lüthy, who was relatively poor, travelled to Lucerne in 1832 to work at the Federal Shooting Festival. Whilst in the region, he took a boat trip from Lucerne to Weggis and was so inspired by his experience that he wrote a song.

The murals by the Lucerne painter Karl Schlageter, which are located in the Rigistübli of the Hotel Central, illustrate why Johann Lüthy could not forget the region even whilst working on his loom at home. Two clarinets belonging to the famous musician are also on display.

Unfortunately, Lüthy's handwritten notes, including the Rigi-Song manuscript were destroyed in a fire. However thanks to its popularity back then, various versions of it have been handed down through the generations and it is still sung today.